Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#4: The Next Best Thing (Jennifer Weiner)

on February 12, 2013

Sickness and lots of rehearsals for the Britten festival at Union University have eaten into my time for reading for pleasure. Rather than getting TOO far off of my pace, I decided to pass the many miles of traveling back and forth to Jackson with this year’s first audio book.

The Next Best Thing is the story of a young lady and her grandmother who leave the familiar world of Boston to pursue a television career in Hollywood. Ruth Sanders’ life has been anything but easy. Her parents were killed in a car accident early in her life; she continues to deal with the emotional and physical scars from the tragic night. Her grandmother has become her closest friend and trusted confidant. To honor their relationship, Ruth pitches a television series based upon their adventures: The Next Best Thing.

Following the trials of producing a television serial, Weiner lovingly addresses the issues faced by a young woman who is haunted by her physical appearance. The novel is filled with authentic emotion as well as humor. I especially enjoyed the inclusion of Ruth’s non-traditional “knight in shining armor” – a paralyzed man fighting his own demons from his wheelchair.

The Next Best Thing is probably a book that I would have passed over if I encountered it in the library. Given the limited availability of audio books at the moment I needed one, I took a chance. I’m glad I did and enjoyed my time in Hollywood with Ruth and her Nana!


Leave a comment