Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#2: 2nd Chance (James Patterson)

on February 6, 2016

I’m continuing to work my way through the Women’s Murder Club series and thoroughly enjoying the easy reading. The central characters return, facing personal danger as they search for a serial killer. This time, events spiral as the murders begin with the death of an 11-year-old black girl exiting a church choir rehearsal. What first appears to be a series of hate crimes quickly turn much darker.

This installment also features the return of Lindsey’s long lost father. At times touching, this personal narrative becomes painful to watch. I’m not sure if I want to see Dad return in future episodes or not. I suppose I’ll just have to see what Mr. Patterson has in mind for his readers.

My only complaint about the book involves the ending. I’ll be careful not to include spoilers. When the suspect is finally apprehended, Lindsey dramatically realizes he is the wrong guy. In a head-spinning series of events, the hunt leads back to a minor character briefly appearing earlier in the story. Personally, I felt a little cheated, as though the author was simply looking for a way to stretch things out for another 50 pages.

Leave a Reply

