Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#1: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (J.K. Rowling)

on January 3, 2016

To begin my reading in the new year, I completed the fifth volume of the Harry Potter saga. In this 5th year at Hogwarts, Harry learns much about his past and destiny while struggling with his own demons as well as the Dark Lord and the infuriating High Inquisitor of the school. Of all the books I have read thus far, Phoenix has been my least favorite. I do recognize its importance to the story as a whole, however.

I found The Order of the Phoenix to get off to a very slow start. Truthfully, if I had not been so invested in the series, I probably would not have completed the book. (I tend to quit reading books that have not grabbed my attention within the first 75 pages or so.) Additionally, I found myself longing for Dumbledore's influence on the story. I love the adventures of the children and have enjoyed watching them grow up, but their stories make a much more profound statement when they are enjoying the interaction of all the faculty. My reading was often distracted as I kept wondering why the Headmaster was not commenting on the situation.

As the novel began to reach its climax, I became enthralled with Harry's story again and just couldn't put it down. The quality of the writing of the final scenes restored my confidence in Rowling and has me looking forward to the 6th year of our heroes' studies at the Wizarding Academy.

Leave a Reply

