Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#11: The Good Thief (Hannah Tinti)

on June 4, 2015

I am loving having a little down time to dive back into My Library Shelf project! I returned by reading The Good Thief. Since I was unfamiliar with Hannah Tinti’s writing, I didn’t really know what to expect. I found myself immersed in a great story and a fan of the author’s writing style.

The Good Thief is the story of Ren. Ren is living in a Catholic-run orphanage in New England and is constantly getting in trouble. His hopes of being adopted are constantly dashed because potential parents view his missing hand as an insurmountable obstacle. Just as Ren begins to accept a future that will include being sold into the army when he reaches age 18, his fortune unexpectedly changes. A young man of questionable intentions arrives at St. Anthony’s to select a son. Ren is adopted in spite of his handicap and it seems his luck has changed…..or has it?

The Good Thief follows Ren and his mentor, Benjamin, as they struggle to stay alive while avoiding trouble with those who want to hurt them. The plot twists and turns unexpectedly and will keep the reader coming back for more. This book was one of my favorites of the year so far and I’m definitely looking forward to reading Tinti’s other novel, Animal Crackers, in the future.

For now, I have another book on the horizon. June’s selection of the Reading with Jacqs project is White Teeth by Zadie Smith. I’ll start this national bestseller later today.

Leave a Reply

