Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#21: Merry Christmas, Cowboy (Janet Dailey)

on December 17, 2014

I could say that I was a little feverish while recovering from bronchitis when I selected this book. I could claim momentary insanity. The truth of the matter is that I just wanted a Christmas story to read. It wasn’t until I had completed the check out process at the library that I noticed the lovely sticker on the spine that indicated the novel was a romance. I read it. I want to maintain my honesty as a blogger, so here’s my public review.

Merry Christmas, Cowboy actually is based on a charming story line. Paula, a Denver police officer, volunteers at the Christmas House, a Victorian mansion that is lavishly decorated for the holidays. The Christmas House is run by Edith, an elderly woman who cares for her teenage grandson, Brandon. As the volunteers hustle to put things together for the opening of the Christmas House, a rugged cowboy assists with some carpentry and quickly catches Paula’s eye. Brandon becomes involved with some local thugs despite the warnings he receives from Edith, Paula, and Zach (our cowboy). When the Christmas House is robbed, Brandon and his “friends” are prime suspects. Will the cop catch the young man red-handed or is she simply overly suspicious of a good kid?

There’s no need to attempt to fool anyone. Merry Christmas, Cowboy is not high literature. Honestly, I don’t know that it can even be classified as “literature.” It’s a piece of fluff that passes the time without requiring the use of brain cells. The on-again, off-again romance between Paula and Zach was annoying and lacked depth. The robbery and eventual criminals could be clearly seen a mile away by a remotely intelligent reader. Thankfully, the romance was never overly graphic. The idea had potential, but needed the aid of a different author.

Now it’s time to move on to something a bit more interesting to read.

Leave a Reply

