Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#26: Inferno (Dan Brown)

on May 20, 2013

I have had the release day of Inferno on my calendar for months. I had monitored my reading in the weeks before to make sure that I would be ready for a new book on the Tuesday of the book’s release. On that Tuesday, I found myself driving into the mountain community of Eureka Springs, Arkansas for a few days of relaxation. This is going to be perfect…..I’ll be able to sit in the mountains and in my hotel room and just read all day long. I get directions to the local book shop only to discover that the store has closed for the day. I’ve been driving all day long, but there is NO WAY that I am not going to have Inferno in my possession on release day. So what do I do? I google the nearest Barnes and Noble and make the 55 minute drive to a store just outside of Fayetteville and start reading over dinner. Then I head back to Eureka Springs and lose myself in the book for the rest of the night!

Inferno is quite possibly my favorite of Dan Brown’s novels. This smartly-written tale again features our favorite art professor and symbologist, Robert Langdon. In addition to the usual emphasis on masterpieces of the art world, Brown expertly weaves a fascinating read around the epic poem by Dante Alighieri from which Brown’s novel takes its name. Throw in references to classical compositions by Franz Liszt and Richard Wagner and I am one happy camper!

Inferno features lots of twists and turns that leave the reader wondering who can be trusted and what has actually happened. The only thing that is missing this time around is the graphic violence that I have come to expect from Brown’s novels. (I still find Angels and Demons to be terribly disturbing!) Making the novel timely is the underlying discussion of the world population crisis and the threat of a viral pandemic. Add to the mix a brilliant (or mad?) scientist, a mysterious organization that operates without concern for ethics, and the religious sites in Florence, Venice, and Istanbul and you have the recipe for an exciting page-turner! I am thrilled to have read the book and highly recommend it to thoughtful readers everywhere.

Leave a Reply

