Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#16: The Paris Wife (Paula McLain)

on April 7, 2013

Let’s start with the reason I postponed this post for a few hours. Even after I finished the novel, I can’t decide how I feel about it. The writing was okay. The story was interesting. I don’t know what the problem was though….

The Paris Wife is the story of Hadley, the first wife of novelist Ernest Hemingway. While filled with historical figures and accurate events from the author’s life, the work is a fictional development of these larger than life characters. Much of the work centers around the writing of Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises (which just happens to be a book that holds a special place in my heart). I suppose it is this seamless movement between fact and fiction that was troubling about the book for me. I am a fan of historical fiction, but I always like to know where fact ends and fiction begins. I thought I knew a lot about Hemingway’s life. This novel just reminded me of how little I actually know and how terribly interesting and tormented Ernest Hemingway actually was.

Leave a Reply

