Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#10: Private Games (James Patterson)

on March 18, 2013

I must be honest. I've always viewed the writing of James Patterson as second rate novels with mass market appeal that lacked any real substance. When I selected Private Games from the audio rack, my expectations were quite low. I discovered a well-wrought novel with lots of thoughtful writing and highly developed characters.

Private Games is set against the backdrop of the 2012 London Olympic Games. Just before the Opening Ceremonies, a member of the organizing committee is brutally murdered. A sports reporter at the Sun receives a letter signed by Kronos (of Greek mythology fame) taking responsibility for the homicide and claims that he is cleansing the Olympic Games of all manner of corruption. The Games are plagued with attacks by Kronos — including the poisoning of the American flag bearer and murder of Chinese gymnastic coaches during a medal ceremony — leading up to the fury of the Closing Ceremony. No event is safe. No security plan seems to be impossible for Kronos to infiltrate.

A private security expert is hot on the case. Through ever twisting plot developments and new revelations, Patterson's novel keeps you guessing until the book's stupendous conclusion. Even when Kronos' identity is revealed, the mystery continues to unravel and grips the reader with intrigue. Now I understand why Patterson's works are considered page turners! I'm not sure I would invest the time to read one of his books in the traditional manner, but as an audio book it was certainly a lot of fun and passed the miles quickly. I found myself looking for excuses to get back in my car and find out what was going to happen next!

Leave a Reply

