Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#7: The Light Between Oceans (M.L. Stedman)

on March 3, 2013

Being sick wore me out, so I’m a couple of days late in posting the review of my most recent read. I thoroughly enjoyed The Light Between Oceans!

The story centers around a married couple who care for a lighthouse on a remote island off the coast of Australia.  After several painful miscarriages, the unimaginable happens: a boat washes ashore bearing a dead man and a tiny baby girl wrapped in a blanket.  The baby is very much alive. The couple find themselves facing a moral dilemma:  report the child’s arrival in hopes of reconnecting her with family or raise this sea-borne child as a gift of Fate.

Lucy grows on the island and becomes the center of her parents’ world as well as the source of constant guilt over their decisions. When the child’s birth-mother is discovered, the novel takes on the question of whether it is blood or circumstances that truly connect us with our family.

The novel got off to a somewhat slow start for me, but I am certainly glad that I decided to stick with it for a few more pages! The Light Between the Oceans was another great read of the year.

I’m discovering that I’m constantly stating how much I’m enjoying the books I’m reading, so I’m going to steal an idea from the blog 101 Books.  After every 10 books completed, I’ll provide a complete ranking…..based entirely upon my opinion and preferences at that moment in time. I think it will be a fun addition to the blog.

Leave a Reply

