Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#29: The Bridge (Karen Kingsbury)

on December 11, 2012

Last week was insanely busy with finals at both Union and MSCC. Needless to say, I was doing a lot of driving to be everywhere I was needed. I decided it was time to grab an audio book and pass the time.

Though I’m not normally a fan of Kingsbury’s work, I found myself greatly enjoying the Christmas story contained in The Bridge. The book tells the story of 2 college students who fall in love as they spend time together in a quaint bookstore. Due to a misunderstanding, the two part ways and their lives move in opposite directions. Fate brings the young lovers together again when the bookstore’s owner faces struggles and the potential of losing his business. What transpires is nothing short of a Christmas miracle.

As I listened, I found myself laughing and crying with Kingsbury’s characters. My heart was grabbed by the purity of love presented and the human connection made over a common passion for books. It’s not something I would ever have expected to read….er, listen to……but I must admit that I’m glad I did.  If you are in the mood for a heartwarming Christmas story, I would consider spending a few hours with The Bridge.

Leave a Reply

