Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#24: Home (Toni Morrison)

on November 16, 2012

Image

I have been a fan of Toni Morrison’s work since first reading Beloved in college. I have read almost everything she has written (Song of Solomon is still unread after several attempts) and I always thrill when I see a new work of hers on the shelf. A few weeks ago I was blowing time in the bookstore when I saw Home sitting on the shelf. With a flight coming up in a few days, I knew this novel would be a part of the journey.

Home is the story of a veteran of the Korean War who makes his way home to care for his sister who is being abused in a medical facility. The plot seems simple enough; the novel is thrilling because of the deep characters introduced throughout and Morrison’s ability to effortlessly weave an enthralling story.

Home becomes much more than just a journey to a location. It is a return to family, memories, and roots.  I suppose that is partly why the novel resonated with me. I have returned to the home of my childhood. I despise the town that I live in. I am not fond of my current living situation. Despite it all, I treasure the people and memories that make up my Home. After all, Home is what makes me who I am…..similar to the concept so beautifully described in Morrison’s latest novel.

Leave a Reply

