Reading for Me

The Books I Have Read…..Just for Me

#23: Wagner: A Case History (Martin van Amerongen)

on October 26, 2012

Having time to read has been a precious commodity of late. When I visited friends in southern California earlier this month, I took the time to finish a book that I had been reading. I wish I could tell you it was a great novel that was relaxing and purely for pleasure. Sadly that is not the case.

A few years ago, I wandered into a used book store and found the book about Richard Wagner. Love him or hate him, you have to admit that the man’s life and legacy is fascinating. I hadn’t seen the book before and the price was right, so I decided to take a chance and make the purchase. The book found a comfortable home on a shelf; I looked at it each time I needed a new book to read. Something else always grabbed my attention.

I finally got around to reading the book. And I’m no better for having read it. This work was truly a waste of my time. Why did I keep reading? That’s what I keep asking myself. I have a general rule that gives myself permission to put down a book at any point in the reading process. I refuse to put the pressure on myself to finish a book simply because I’m close to the end. I DO finish books for that reason from time to time, but it’s not something that is hard and fast in my mind. I kept reading in the hopes that I would stumble upon some nugget of information that would enlighten me in some way or that I might be able to use in a classroom lecture in the future. Nothing came of it.

Now that I’ve posted about READING the book, I’ll return it to its comfortable home on my shelf until something vies for that space. I don’t envision pulling this work off the shelf again in this lifetime.

Leave a Reply

